top of page
Recent Posts
Featured Posts

Foolin' Around

I'm a master at finding things that light me up. And let me tell you, there is A LOT of things on this planet that catches my eye. When something snags my attention, I fool around with it & give it my all. Until, of course, I find something else to take its place. One moment my absolute favorite band on the entire planet is Nsync (no, I'm not kidding) the next it's Rebelution..only to be dumped by Nahko (who still currently sits at the top of the charts in my mind).

I've never questioned my pattern of exploration, or why I fall head over moccasins with one thing and then ditch it for another, until now.

I'd like to say proudly that I am a Pisces who lives in the moment. I dream more than most as Pisces do, but I do a damn good job of being present. I believe this is the driving force in my life. I find something that entertains me in the moment, I follow it, and then I let it go. Some have seen it as a lack of focus or passion, I disagree. It's non attachment to expectations of what something is and simply allows me to enjoy the now.

My new found love (a whopping one day) is photography. Months ago I scored some cash and did what any responsible adult would do; I put half towards bills and the other half I blew on something I'd wanted for a very long time, a camera. Side note: after my purchase, my camera sat quietly in its bag patiently waiting to be used.

Today I decided to fool around with it (on April fools, I know so damn clever) & have Z E R O attachment to what I shot, how I shot it, or why. I let go of needing to be good at it and simply had a damn good time.

Some of the side effects from doing the above :

-I met new people

-I saw beauty around me I never witnessed before

-I laughed

-I explored

-I had fun

-I fell in love with Sacramento in a whole new way

It's in my DNA to help everyone around me find their way & do what they love really really well. Helping others shine is what Lighthouses do. We stand mighty fucking tall and shine light on the unseen path for people to find their way when they are lost. What's not in my DNA is to shine that light right back at me and offer myself the same.

Today I changed my DNA. I let myself shine. I went out by myself and played the part of a photographer AND a writer (watch out world). And although I might not be a master at either, I'm committed to living in the present moment and focusing on what lights me up, which is self exploration and lots of lots of love.

I hope you fooled around today with some things that made you glad you're alive.

Enjoy my raw and unedited photos from today.

Follow Us
No tags yet.
Search By Tags
Archive
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page